Accessibility

Font Size

100% 150% 200%

Background Colour

Default Contrast
Close Reset

DEVIL'S BRIDGE

Site Details



NPRN 23859

Map Reference SN77NW

Grid Reference SN7417177025

Unitary (Local) Authority Ceredigion

Old County Cardiganshire

Community Pontarfynach

Type of Site BRIDGE

Broad Class TRANSPORT

Period Post Medieval, Medieval

Site Description Three superimposed bridges associated with Satan cross the Mynach at the heart of the small resort of Devils Bridge, dedicated to the picturesque.

The present road bridge is a late twentieth century reconstruction of an iron or steel lattice girder bridge of 1901, retaining the original railings and so much of the original's character. Immediately below is a massive 18m stone rubble span carried on a segmental arch. This is the bridge built in 1753 whose original stone parapets were replaced by the present cast iron panels in 1814. Some panels have been displaced by the upper bridge span.

The 1753 bridge frames the comparatively diminutive lower bridge which, perched on the living rock above the river chasm, has a single obtusely pointed arch perhaps 6.0m wide that crosses some 30m above the gushing torrent. This stone rubble bridge is thought to be a medieval structure, perhaps sixteenth century, although it appears to have been much restored and amended when the 1753 bridge was built over it.

The three bridges demonstrate the improvements made to road transport. With each successive bridge the gradient of the road was evened out and the roadway increased in width.

Source: CADW Listed Buildings Database (9870)

John Wiles 18.09.07

Digital Images

Archive Records

Associated Sites