Glandyfi Castle is an early-nineteenth-century castle-house in the irregular picturesque style popularised by John Nash. The castle-house is built on an enscarpment (now wooded, but originally treeless) with impressive views across the Dyfi estuary. A major ragged joint on the east elevation indicates a staggered building history. The house was certainly habitable by 1818 when George Jeffreys was apparently resident (according to the listing), and he was high-sheriff a year later. Like many castle-houses it was commissioned by a family with industrial interests; theJeffreys had an interest in the Garreg lead-smelting works. On stylistic grounds Glandyfi Castle has been plausibly attributed to J. H. Haycock of Shrewsbury (The Buildings of Wales: Cardiganshire and Carmarthenshire, p. 471 ). A detailed description of the exterior is available in Cadw's list description. The principal architectural feature internally is a thoroughgoing branching Gothic stair with trefoiled decoration.
Glandyfi castle has a conventional country-house plan with principal rooms, service wing, and kitchen courtyard in sequence from South-North. There are terraced gardens and a walled garden to the East and South-East (NPRN 302095). The Home Farm stands at some distance from Glandyfi Castle at the end of the track that passes in front of the house.
RCAHMW, January 2011