Accessibility

Font Size

100% 150% 200%

Background Colour

Default Contrast
Close Reset

GLANDYFI CASTLE

Site Details


NPRN 5456

Map Reference SN69NE

Grid Reference SN69229668

Unitary (Local) Authority Ceredigion

Old County Cardiganshire

Community Ysgubor-y-coed

Type of Site MANSION

Broad Class Domestic

Period Post Medieval

Site Description Glandyfi Castle is an early-nineteenth-century castle-house in the irregular picturesque style popularised by John Nash. The castle-house is built on an enscarpment (now wooded, but originally treeless) with impressive views across the Dyfi estuary. A major ragged joint on the east elevation indicates a staggered building history. The house was certainly habitable by 1818 when George Jeffreys was apparently resident (according to the listing), and he was high-sheriff a year later. Like many castle-houses it was commissioned by a family with industrial interests; theJeffreys had an interest in the Garreg lead-smelting works. On stylistic grounds Glandyfi Castle has been plausibly attributed to J. H. Haycock of Shrewsbury (The Buildings of Wales: Cardiganshire and Carmarthenshire, p. 471 ). A detailed description of the exterior is available in Cadw's list description. The principal architectural feature internally is a thoroughgoing branching Gothic stair with trefoiled decoration.

Glandyfi castle has a conventional country-house plan with principal rooms, service wing, and kitchen courtyard in sequence from South-North. There are terraced gardens and a walled garden to the East and South-East (NPRN 302095). The Home Farm stands at some distance from Glandyfi Castle at the end of the track that passes in front of the house.

RCAHMW, January 2011

Digital Images

Archive Records

Associated Sites