Accessibility

Font Size

100% 150% 200%

Background Colour

Default Contrast
Close Reset

BRYN SEION WELSH CALVINISTIC METHODIST CHAPEL;CARMEL; BRYN SION BAPTIST CHURCH, MILL STREET; MARG

Site Details



NPRN 8924

Map Reference SN90SE

Grid Reference SN99370358

Unitary (Local) Authority Rhondda, Cynon, Taff

Old County Glamorgan

Community Aberdare

Type of Site CHAPEL

Broad Class RELIGIOUS RITUAL AND FUNERARY

Period Post Medieval

Site Description Bryn Sion Methodist Chapel was first built in 1862 and rebuilt in 1899 to the design of architect Roderick Thomas of Aberdare. The present chapel, dated 1899, is built in the Simple Sub-Classical style of the gable-entry type. It has two storeys, with a large Hall/Sunday school to the rear of the chapel and a long narrow splayed room (vestry) to the right of the hall. The building was internally modified in 1930, when a coffered ceiling was inserted, and in the 1970's when an immersion-font was installed as the chapel became Baptist. Carml (Bryn Seion) is now Grade 2 Listed as a 'prominent nineteenth century chapel with a particularly elaborate inter-war classical ceiling'.

RCAHMW, April 2010

Archive Records